The Russian Premier League has come to beIN SPORT!

The season kicks off this weekend and we'll be confirming soon the programming schedule.  In the mean time here's the basics of what you need to know to follow this tournament. 

- What is it?

The Russian Premier League is the top division of the Russian football system since 2001 but it was originally established since 1992 as the "Top Division."

- When Does it take Place?   

Traditionally the league ran in the summer, from March to November to avoid teams playing in the cold snowy winter. As of the 2012/2013 season, the league switched from autumn to spring with a three-month break from mid-December to mid-March. 

- What to Watch for?

Some of the biggest and richest teams in the world reside in the Russian Premier League. Since 2011 big name players have flocked to the Premier League to continue their careers or to develop. Clubs such as Anzhi Makhachkala, Zenit St. Petersburg, CSKA Moscow, Spartak Moscow, Lokomotiv Moscow, and Rubin Kazan have all signed big names and compete regularly on the European Competitions.

The games kick off Sunday with ANZHI vs LOKOMOTIV KUBAN vs RUBIN, and  ROSTOV vs TEREK.

- What's the Format? 

The Russian Premier League follows a traditional round robin format in which the teams face each other twice within the season, once at home and once away for a total of 30 matches. 

As of 2010, the Champion and the runner up qualify to the Champions League. The third, fourth, and fifth teams qualify to the Europa League. After every season, the bottom two teams go down.

- Which are the teams with Most Wins?  

Since the creation of the league (as the Top Division) in 1992, Spartak Moscow has won it 9 times from 1992 to 2002, with only Alania Vladikavkaz to claim the title in 1995. Since 2002, CSKA Moscow has won it 4 times, Zenit St. Petersburg has won it 3 times, and Lokomotiv Moscow and Rubin Kazan have won it twice each.